Back to Top



The Illinois State House of Representatives is the lower house of the Illinois State Legislature. The house has 118 members, who each represent one district, which results in about 105,248 constituents per representative. Primary responsibilities of a house representative include: developing budget packages, making taxation decisions, passing legislation, allocating spending, and redistricting in collaboration with other house members and the state senate. Important issues discussed in the Illinois senate recently include, a potential income tax increase, a statewide minimum wage, and federal healthcare funding. Additionally, the house has the exclusive authority to impeach state officials, who will then be tried by the senate. A house member serves a two-year term, with no limits on the number of terms served.




The Illinois 89th Legislative District is nestled in the beautiful northwestern section of the state. The district includes all of Jo Daviess and Stephenson counties as well as some areas of Winnebago, Ogle, Whiteside, and Carroll Counties

The Mississippi River is our western border, and the northern border is the Wisconsin State line. To the south, the 89th runs through Carroll, Whiteside, and Ogle Counties. To the east, the district reaches the city limits of Rockford in Winnebago County.

The 89th district is a healthy mixture of rural agriculture and urban industries, tourist destinations, and charming working towns. We are proud that towns like Galena, East Dubuque, Elizabeth, Hanover, Stockton, Pearl City, Lena, Dakota, Foreston,  Mt. Morris, Lanark, Scales Mound, Freeport, Durand, Orangeville, and Milledgeville are within our District.

Yo can identify your District by looking at your Voter Registration Card, or by visiting your city's website to see in which District you live.


Here's a map of the 89th District.

Paid for by The Committee to Elect Ann Williams
Powered by - Political Websites